Contents Sex Praecepta Ecclesiae
The Six Precepts of the Church

The six precepts of the Church come from Canon Law and are a summary of the duties of all Catholics. The list varies from region to region. The list below is the one for the United States. (See CCC: 2041-2043)

1. Diebus Dominicis ceterisque festis de praecepto Missam audire et ab operibus servilibus vacare. 1. To hear Mass on Sundays and Holy Days of Obligation and to refrain from servile work.
2. Peccata saltem semel in anno confiteri. 2. To confess one's sins at least once a year.
3. Eucharistiae sacramentum saltem in Paschale recipere. 3. To receive the Holy Eucharist at least during the Easter season.
4. Diebus ab Ecclesia statutis ab esu carnium abstinere et ieiunium servare. 4. To fast and abstain on the days appointed.
5. Ecclesiae necessitatibus subvenire. 5. To contribute to the support of the Church.
6. Oboedire leges matrimoniae Ecclesiae. 6. To obey the marriage laws of the Church. (Not to marry persons who are not Catholics, or who are related to us within the fourth degree of kindred, nor privately without witnesses, nor to solemnize marriage at forbidden times.)

<- Prev

©copyrighted by Michael Martin