Contents Praecepta Decalogi
The Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments appear in two places in Scripture, Exodus 20 and Deut 5:6-21. Catholics and some Protestants (in particular the Lutherans), get the list from Deut 5:6-21, while most Protestants get theirs from Ex 20:1-17. The two lists are essentially the same, but the Protestants split the first commandment into two commandments and then fuse the last two into a single commandment. (See the CCC: 2084-2534)

1. Ego sum Dominus Deus tuus, qui eduxi te de terra Aegypti, de domo servitutis. Non habebis deos alienos coram me. Non facies tibi sculptile neque omnem similitudinem eorum, quae sunt in caelo desuper et quae in terra deorsum et quae in aquis sub terra. Non adorabis ea neque coles. 1. I am the Lord thy God, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. Thou shalt not have strange gods before Me. Thou shalt not make to thyself a graven thing, nor the likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or in the earth beneath, nor of those things that are in the waters under the earth. Thou shalt not adore them, nor serve them.
2. Non assumes nomen Domini Dei tui in vanum. 2. Thou shalt not take the Name of the Lord thy God in vain.
3. Memento, ut diem Sabbati sanctifices. 3. Remember to keep holy the Lord's Day.
4. Honora patrem tuum et matrem tuam, ut sis longaevus super terram. 4. Honor thy father and thy mother, that thou mayest live long upon the land.
5. Non occides. 5. Thou shalt not kill.
6. Non moechaberis. 6. Thou shalt not commit adultery.
7. Non furtum facies. 7. Thou shalt not steal.
8. Non loqueris contra proximum tuum falsum testimonium. 8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
9. Non concupisces uxorem proximi tui. 9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's wife.
10. Nec omnia, quae illius sunt. 10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's goods.

<- Prev

©copyrighted by Michael Martin